Life: I Just Want To Be Bad

If you’ve been following along for a while, you know that I eat a paleo/primal/ancestral type of diet that includes high fat, grass fed dairy and excludes nightshades.  It’s been about two years since I changed my eating style.  I believe that this is a better way to eat and I recommend everyone try it for a month.

Lately, though, I just want to be bad.  The expression of that sentiment has been in the way I eat.  Not exactly the best way to go about being a rebel in life, but there it is.  I haven’t totally ditched my eating style, but I’ve been consuming way too much in the way of approved goodies, eating with television, and generally being too tired and stressed out to cook.

I know…excuses, excuses, excuses.  However, I think that this sentiment is worth talking about.  I’m obviously not perfect and neither is any other human being on the planet.  I follow along with the blog community of paleo/primal eaters and similarly oriented people, but there is a lot of shiny perfection going on.  I like pretty websites, but sometimes I think there is pressure to eat perfectly despite all the 80/20 and 90/10 declarations.

So really, what’s my problem?  Stressssssss.  Long hours at work does not lend itself to mindfulness when you I get home from work.  Instead, I want the past of least resistance.  Usually this means food, TV, shower, bed.

Why am I telling you all of this?  Mostly because I haven’t done anything about what’s wrong with my life right now and I intend to fix that.  I also promised to run a 5 K with a friend at the end of the month and I need to get my butt moving.

So, this is my declaration that things are off kilter and that I will be fixing them.  I’m starting with sleep and food.

Leave a Reply

