Looking Good

I’ve noticed over the last few months that the most popular blogs are fashion blogs.  Now, I’m not knocking fashion in any way in this post, but bear with me here for a little bit.

When I say that the most popular blogs are fashion blogs, they are the most popular blogs by far.  They far exceed all other blogs, including food blogs, in readership.  I find this unsettling.  One, because, I don’t understand why clothes come before food, and, two, because it points to a societal focus on outward appearance.

Outward appearance is important.  I don’t think you should show up to a fancy party in ripped jeans and an old t-shirt, but I also think that such a huge societal focus on outward appearance in detrimental to our society.  Not to mention, that I think buying more and more expensive clothes and spending so much time styling clothes is going about this whole appearance thing the wrong way.

There is a huge focus on trying to cover up ourselves and change the way we naturally look.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s fun to dress up and change how we look once in a while.  The problem I have with this is that instead of changing things like how we eat, sleep, and interact with the world, people are running to find ways to patch up what they consider defective or lacking.

This is where makeup comes in.  Makeup is a huge industry.  It’s a big part of the fashion industry and a big part of the blogging world, too.  There are stores devoted to makeup that are packed full of people.  Endless debates on how to wear makeup and look “natural” at the same time.  Now, that last part really makes me laugh because makeup does not ever make you look natural.  Makeup is to make yourself up.  And hey, I like to make myself up sometimes.  It’s fun.

The thing is that makeup comes with a price.  Most of the makeup out there is harmful.  Growing up, I was always told that makeup ended up making people look older because it was damaging to their skin.  It was a simple observation made by my mom, but she is right.  All that makeup is bad for you.  Since learning about all the toxins in self-care and beauty products, I’ve purged my bathroom.  (I talked about my changes here and here.)  Now, my routine is simple and focuses on caring for my body and not making it up.

What I’m saying with all of this is that I’m disturbed by the amount of consumerism and keeping up with the Jonses mentality that is going on in this world.  I don’t think that the constant exposure of media and the endless information that can be had on the Internet is really helping.  I’m definitely not immune to it and some days despite my best intentions, I find myself bored and wanting more, more, more.  The reality is that I never really need most of those things and those things don’t make me happy.

These days when I look in the mirror, I like the way I look.  I’ve never been much of a mirror person, but I’m actually surprised when I find myself thinking, “Huh, I look pretty good” after washing my face in the morning.  Somewhere along the journey of eating better, sleeping better, and evolving my world views, I’ve found that I look better.

Who doesn’t want to look good?  I’m pretty sure that everyone, everywhere wants to look good.  I just hope that you remember that the path to looking good is grounded in taking good care of your body and not in makeup and clothing.  Really at the end of the day, it’s who you are as a person more than anything else.  Are you a good person that is taking care of his/her body well?  If you are, then I guarantee that you look good.

 

2 thoughts on “Looking Good

  1. Excellent post. I think the same things almost everyday. I’m so glad I found you… er… you found me? Hahaha. I really like your blog.

    This is rather funny, because the day before you posted this, I sent a thrifty fashion blog to my friend after she mentioned something about how she liked thrift shopping. She totally geeked out and got all excited, saying how much she looooves fashion blogs and spends so much time looking at them. Her response actually saddened me. I’ve never received any feedback from her on my own blog, where I often discuss health issues, and I have no idea if she ever reads it. She’s had diabetes for a few years now but she’s never appeared to take a serious healthy approach to her diet and lifestyle. When someone who has diabetes talks about which brand of soda she prefers, I can’t help but want to scream. Blood sugar imbalances will only get worse with more consumption of sugar! Anyway, I think of her often and want so bad to talk to her and help her, but I don’t think she’d listen or take me seriously at all. But can you blame her? We’ve been brainwashed into believing that “looking better” equals “being better”. It’s heart breaking, really.

    • Thank you, Gracie!

      Me, too. I’ve really enjoyed reading your blogs and all your wonderful comments. It’s nice to be able to connect with someone who cares about living a healthy life and cares about others.

      I’m sorry to hear about your friend. That can be really tough. I actually witnessed a similar issue with soda in a relative of mine with diabetes at a wedding and was horrified to watch him down glass after glass of diet Pepsi (or maybe it was Coca-Cola). I guess people don’t know what they are missing since they aren’t even willing to try to change things. It’s definitely sad.

      I hope that at some point your friend will be able to go to you and start making some lifestyle changes that will help improve her health. You are a caring friend who has so much knowledge to share and I hope that she will come around to see that.

      Hope you’re having a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

