Changing of the Seasons

Seasons are wonderful things.  It’s one of the things that I missed when I was living in the desert clime of California.  Yes, they have their own version of seasons, but I like the four seasons that you learn about in school.

Lately, though, I’m less of a fan of seasons.  Living in a place that has more snow than anything else along with terrible driving conditions and long hours at work, I understand why people develop seasonal affective disorder (SAD).

I’ve been trying to combat the lack of sunlight in my life with light therapy, but most mornings there isn’t enough time to sit in front of the light before heading out.  When I come home, I don’t want to be messing with my sleep at night, so light therapy, at that point, is out.

I’ve noticed that since the time change, my mood is less cheery and it takes a bit more in the mornings to get going.  Since I interact with people all day long having a good mood is pretty important.

I am also getting less exercise.  Since I leave when it’s dark and get home when it’s dark, I don’t get a chance to get outside for some running or walking, which compounds my lack of sunlight problem.  What’s worse is that as the season gets closer to winter, we get more clouds than sun anyway.

My eating is also out of whack, either from the hibernation instinct or just from the changing availability of produce.  I find myself less interested in food.

Obviously, life is comprised of a bunch of different factors, but thinking about season changes and the things that I like in my life since transitioning to a paleo lifestyle and mindset is interesting.  I definitely want to tweak things about my life to get more balance, feel better, and be happier.

I think that there will be some bigger changes and decisions to make down the pipeline when I wrap things up here with school.  I don’t see myself staying here as there are a lot of downsides and I’m keen to move back to a larger metropolitan area.  Who knew that I am actually more city girl than I’d like to admit?  I blame growing up in New York for spoiling me.

It’s a short week!  Do the happy dance!

Leave a Reply

