I’m Back…sort of

So, I finally have internet that is all mine and things are relatively together.  When I say relatively, I really mean that.  I still don’t know where half my clothes are and where any of my papers are, but I know where the important things that I need to function are, so that’s enough for me right now.  It’s going to be a long road to getting everything to a state of being able to do without thinking.

I realize that I wrote that first paragraph without any background.  I have moved and am back into the swing of things career/academic wise, so that’s why I don’t know where half my clothes are.

My first week back I moved and got sort of organized over three crazy days.  Only made possible by the awesomeness and dedication of my mom and sister.  Super big thank you!  In my sleep deprived state, I started on a crazy schedule of 14 plus hour days where I’m running around and on my feet all day.  It’s been fun, but there is not nearly enough time to get sleep and all the documentation done that needs to be done in the remaining hours of the day.

Lack of time brings me to the the point of this whole post…food and sleep.  Let’s start with food, since I just ate breakfast.  (I have to apologize for the lack of photos…hopefully sometime soon I’ll be much more into the swing of things and remember to take and post photos.)  I just had some bacon and a scramble of eggs, zucchini, and sweet onion fried in the bacon fat (I want to say grease, but that makes it sound disgusting.).  Super good.  I hadn’t realized that I was hungry this morning, I haven’t been eating enough food between running around and then being way too tired to even care about eating.

This is the first time I’ve used the bacon fat to cook something and I actually like it.  I’m surprised because I never was a huge fan of bacon and well, I avoided fats like the plague for most of my life (with the exception of olive oil).  From four pieces of bacon, I had enough fat to make a six egg scramble so I put most of it aside for breakfasts later on this week.  I’m trying to plan ahead here.

The eating has not been perfect by any means.  In fact, I’ve had potatoes, pizza, and pasta all in the last week.  I know, terrible, but I had to go with what was made and given to me.  When you aren’t eating at all from lack of cooked food, eating whatever is there seems like a better alternative than not eating at all.

I’m hoping that this week, if I can get moving here this morning, I can have a bunch of food cooked and stocked in the fridge.  This way I can have things to bring with me to eat and things to eat when I get home.

I’m on lovely night shifts this week.  Not really interested in having a messed up sleep schedule since I feel completely dense when I’m awake as it is now, so trying to keep myself up for the rest of this week sounds not so fun.

In an attempt to help myself sleep for night shifts, I bought some blackout curtains yesterday and hung those up in the bedroom.  They aren’t perfect since they are a little bit narrow, but they do the trick.  The windows already have mini blinds in them, so it gets dark enough to sleep.

I also scheduled myself for a massage.  I think I’m going to be needing more of those this year I think.  My legs and feet are so unhappy with wearing clogs all the time.  I really want to wear my barefoot shoes, but in the interest of keeping all my toes and protecting myself from germs, I gave in and started wearing the clogs that everyone else wears.

Okay, I was totally going to write something more interesting, but I’m feeling the sort of zombie brain coming on, so I’m stopping here.  I’ll try to keep things up on here, but I can’t make any promises.  Be back as soon as I can.  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

