Farmer’s Market!

**cross posted to Funny Eater**

Once you start eating paleo/primal and you consider what you put into your body, not only do you eat differently, but you shop differently for food. Case in point, we’ve gone to the Farmer’s Market every week since we started. It’s the highlight of my week and the food is well worth the effort.

The food just tastes better. We usually have to do a midweek run to a grocery store or farm market store, but that is never the same. The produce just doesn’t taste as good. Different foods have lots of different flavors.

I remember as a kid we had a vegetable garden and while I would eat the vegetables that came out of that garden (even the tomatoes!), I really didn’t like vegetables otherwise. Why? Food from the grocery store doesn’t really have a taste and the taste that it does have is kind of yucky. I always think that carrots taste like dish soap. Gross!

So, we’re heading to the Farmer’s Market in a bit. Just thought I’d let you know. (Don’t think the pictures are going to go up very fast though, because right now I’m in deep trouble for procrastinating on my regular life. I’ll have them for you, but not until later.)

Have a great day! (And stay cool to those folks suffering from excessive summer heat today.)

2 thoughts on “Farmer’s Market!

  1. Sometimes you don’t realize what a difference there is in the taste of vegetables until it comes straight from a garden or farmers market. It is amazing how old some of what we buy at a grocery really is.

    • Hi Karen,

      I probably don’t want to know exactly how old the stuff at the grocery is. I know that a lot of it is picked when they aren’t ripe and shipping from far away, so I’m sure that also makes a difference in taste. I read somewhere recently that tomatoes today have a lot more sodium in them because they are picked so early to be sold in grocery stores. It’s a weird thought.

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting! It’s always fun to find a comment waiting for me.

Leave a Reply

