Thoughts on Paleo/Primal Eating and Living

This whole paleo/primal thing has really got me thinking about a lot of things.  I like it.  I haven’t had new and fun things to really think about in a novel way in a while.  I blame it on school.  (Don’t even get me started on my thoughts on education.)

I saw a post over at Mark’s Daily Apple that was some reader’s list of things that changed for the better in his life since going primal.  (Sorry, I don’t have the specific link for the post…I tend to read things and muse about them and then don’t have links to them later.)  It really got me thinking about the things that have changed in the two short weeks since I’ve started eating paleo/primal.

I’ve started to sleep a little better.  It’s by no means sleeping as well as I want, but I’ll take any improvement.  I’m hoping that I can be a sleeping champ sometime soon.

The dishes tend to get done right after eating.  I’m not sure why, but the dishes would sit for a while before I could pick myself up to do them.  Now, they get done right away.  Even if there is a big wok involved.  My mom even commented on this.  We have a theory that it might be due to a lack of food coma after eating.

I eat more consciously.  What I mean is that I think more about where my food comes from and how it tastes.  We’ve been buying from an organic farmer at the farmer’s market and the produce is not only fresh but so tasty.  We tried some produce from some other farmers that grow produce conventionally and it’s really just not as tasty.  Plus, our organic farmer usually has a novel item or two, which makes it more fun.  I have gotten to know what escarole is and what a sunburst squash is.  Yum!

I also eat more consciously in another way.  I eat at the table and I just eat.  I don’t do other things while I’m eating.  I actually sit and taste the food and I don’t find myself bored while I’m eating.  My family had a bad habit of eating in front of the TV that developed over the last couple of years.  We would just eat mindlessly in front of the TV.  I don’t know why we started eating at the table, but somehow TV just lost our interest.  I’m pretty sure that now that we have completely cancelled TV service, we won’t have the problem of eating in front of the TV again even if we want to.

The changes have come on sort of subtly without me noticing until I actually stop and think about things.  That’s nice that the changes have happened without too much effort.  I like to think of it as the downstream effect of making one positive change in your life.  Making even one change is powerful, but this particular change has come with some subtle and nice effects on the side.  I’m interested to see how things shape up down the line.

I’m hoping that eventually my whole family will eat this way…at least most of the time.  What really got me interested in eating this way was the possibility that it would balance out my mom’s health.  She’s in remission for an autoimmune issue and I’d like to keep it that way.  I’m hoping to prevent any development of an autoimmune issue since I’m now at risk and also hoping to see my seasonal allergies disappear.  My allergies have gotten to a point where I’m taking three medicines just to keep it under control enough for me to function and that’s really just not cool.

So far I only have my mom on this bandwagon.  I’m hoping that she’ll continue to eat like this after I go back to my regularly scheduled life, but I’m not sure that she will.  I think that the biggest issue is coming up with protein for each meal.  We were never huge meat eaters so after a meal that involves beef or pork or any sort of serious meat like that, we have to find something else to eat.  Honestly, in the last two weeks I’ve probably eaten more animal protein than I’ve eaten in the last 5 years.

My dad even commented on the meat eating.  I’d like to see him eat this way, but because he is on the go almost constantly, I think it’s harder to do.  I’m not sure that he’s convinced about this way of eating, so while he eats the way we eat when we all eat together at home, I’m pretty sure he’s eating what he wants when he’s not eating with us.  I think he’ll eventually come around.  He’s definitely thinking about it.  He mentioned that he noticed that he doesn’t see a huge drop in energy levels when he’s hungry, he’s just simply ready to eat again.  I hope that’s the start of him moving closer to eating this way.

I’m not sure about my siblings.  They have busy lives and they don’t always have a choice about what they eat, but I’m still hopeful.

So, those are my thoughts for now.  I’m slowly developing some patience with this whole evolution.  I am one of those people that wants to see effects NOW, but it’s actually been more meditative to realize some of the more subtle effects.

Now, time for bed.  I was going to sleep about an hour ago because I was completely wiped today for some unknown reason, but this took a while to write.

Sweet dreams!

Leave a Reply

