Eating on the Road

I have been eating paleo/primal for about a week now.  I did all my cooking and eating at home and was really enjoying the whole experience.  There is something so organic about washing, chopping, and cooking.  We started shopping at various farmer’s markets and the fresh vegetables and fruits can’t be beat.

So, for a week, I was in my nice little bubble at home cooking and eating and really enjoying everything.  Then, I went away for a couple of days and did not really think ahead.  I knew that it would be more difficult to eat away from home, but I did not anticipate exactly how hard.  I just figured that I would order salad with chicken breast or something like that and I would be fine.  It wouldn’t be ideal, but I would be fine for a couple of days.

Boy, was I wrong.  I nearly starved.  The first night I didn’t do too badly and ate some fish and vegetables at a restaurant called Bonefish.  I’m sure there was probably too much salt somewhere in there, but overall, filled all my needs more or less.

The next day was a complete disaster.  I was running late so I grabbed a pre-made salad at a local grocery store and a black coffee.  (Every time I have to face something boring, I need coffee…I know it’s a psychological crutch…but so tasty.)  The salad barely had any turkey in it and it was the kind of turkey that probably came from the deli counter (i.e. full of nitrates and nitrites and who knows what else) chopped into cubes.  So, I was in semi-starvation mode after trying to make up for my lack of protein and calories with some iceberg lettuce.

Lunch did not turn out that much better.  I was at a meeting where lunch was served and without enough time to dash out and buy something that would have been more appropriate, I had to make do.  I ended up taking apart two roast beef mini sandwiches and throwing out the bread and cheese and tossing the roast beef onto my leftover salad from breakfast and eating it.  Edible, but barely.

Dinner was at an organic cafe, which was good, but they did not have any good salad options that seemed appealing to me.  I ended up just ordering a chicken wrap and dumping out the contents of the wrap and eating it.  I got a little cheese in the process, but I’m not too upset about that.  I did forget to ask them to hold the chips, so trying to not eat the blue corn tortilla chips was a little bit of a challenge.  (It’s funny because usually I have no problem not eating chips.)

Then, on my drive home, I was once again on the market for some food and had to make do yet again.  I had another salad from the grocery store and for protein, I ended up having to make do with fried chicken from a rest stop.  Talk about yuck.  I had to peel the fried battered outside off before putting the chicken in my salad.  I was not a happy camper.  I tried to make up for it with a cup of coffee, but the coffee was immensely bitter and not very good.  Oh well.

The moment I was home, I ate leftovers from the fridge along with a handful of toasted walnuts.  Never again.

So that’s the story of my little fiasco.

Moral of the story: Do not go anywhere unprepared. Otherwise you’ll  be relegated to a semi-starvation state.

Anybody have good ideas for what to eat or how to plan for being away from home (i.e. a kitchen)?

 

 

Leave a Reply

